Instagram Soundcloud Spotify

Squeeze Live In New York

Written by:

Squeeze brought their brand of charming pop smarts (11/29) to the Capitol Theatre the other night and they were fabulous.

The legendary London band has been around since the late ’70s, so their revolving door of membership is understandable. However, this newest Squeeze lineup is one that sizzles with a new and downright electric energy. With Yolanda Charles on bass and former Dirty Vegas frontman Steve Smith on backing vocals and percussion, Squeeze’s always potent pop attack has more texture and sizzle than ever.

Touring behind their new album The Knowledge, Glenn Tilbrook and Chris Difford proved why they’ve always been the Lennon/McCartney of New Wave. The two men have a seamless musical language and their vocal interplay remains one of the most organic and pleasurable elements in modern music.

The new songs from the album like “Please Be Upstanding” and “Departure Lounge” sounded like instant classics, while the rest of the band’s setlist was filled with familiar favorites.

“Cool For Cats” was as hip as ever; “Take Me I’m Yours” was a blissful tug and “Another Nail In My Heart” was just perfect.


  1. Please Be Upstanding
  2. Pulling Mussels (From the Shell)
  3. Patchouli
  4. Hourglass
  5. Final Score
  6. Rough Ride
  7. Annie Get Your Gun
  8. Innocence in Paradise
  9. Cradle to the Grave
  10. Nirvana
  11. Cool for Cats
  12. Another Nail in My Heart
  13. Departure Lounge
  14. Albatross
  15. Take Me I’m Yours
  16. Tempted
  17. Wicked And Cruel
  18. Goodbye Girl
  19. Up The Junction
  20. If I Didn’t Love You
  21. Slap and Tickle
  22. Is That Love
  23. Black Coffee In Bed