Instagram Soundcloud Spotify

Little Steven And The Disciples Of Soul Live At The Capitol Theatre, New York

Written by:

The legendary Little Steven and his band The Disciples of Soul stopped by the Capitol Theatre this weekend (Sept 23) for a night of rousing rock and roll.

Little Steven’s new album Soulfire is his first solo album in almost 20 years and it’s not only a raw and winning return to form, it shows the Boston-born, Jersey-raised musician’s rock and roll muscle has as much power as it ever did.

Backed by a five-piece horn section, a trio of backup singers, and a rhythm section that was tight and funky, Little Steven was a commanding presence, tearing through each number with gusto and heart.

The two and a half hour show had everything–there were Etta James covers (“The Blues Is My Business”), blasts of protest reggae (“Leonard Peltier”), soaring fight songs (“I Am A Patriot”) and funky workouts (“Love On The Wrong Side Of Town”)–and every number burned with electricity and fire.

Little Steven Set List:

  1. Soulfire
  2. Coming Back
  3. Among the Believers
  4. The Blues Is My Business
  5. Love on the Wrong Side of Town
  6. Until the Good Is Gone
  7. Angel Eyes
  8. I Saw the Light
  9. Standing in the Line of Fire
  10. Saint Valentine’s Day
  11. The City Weeps Tonight
  12. Down and Out in New York City
  13. Princess Of Little Italy
  14. Solidarity
  15. Leonard Peltier
  16. I Am A Patriot
  17. Groovin’ Is Easy
  18. Ride The Night Away
  19. Bitter Fruit
  20. Forever
  21. I Don’t Want To Go Home
  22. Out Of The Darkness