The Jasmine Minks Return With “Ten Thousand Tears”

Written by:

The Jasmine Minks are back.

The legendary Scottish outfit’s new single “Ten Thousand Tears” is a shimmering return to form. A rippling mix of reflection and fire, the song is soulful, urgent and unmistakably the Jasmine Minks. As for the specific sonic ingredients that make the band who they are, singer Jim Shepherd told SEM: “I think a ‘Minks tune is harmonious, has some distinctive bass and backing vocals or just has that ‘feel’ – the mod, punk thing or plenty of ringing guitars…a distinctive chorus, emotional lyrics.”

“Ten Thousand Tears” is certainly not short on emotion.

In a statement, the band declared the song is for “loved ones now gone but never forgotten” but it’s also specifically for Phil Duncan, brother of guitarist Wattie Duncan. An avid sportsman and cyclist, Phil Duncan was recently diagnosed with Motor Neurone Disease (MND) and all proceeds from the song will be donated to the Scottish MND.

The ‘Minks were the first band ever signed to Alan McGee’s Creation Records, future home for everyone from The Jazz Butcher to Oasis. Their melodic aural attack summoned everyone from Joy Division to the Byrds and they fast became one of the most beloved indie guitar bands of the ’80s.

SEM’s Dave Cantrell once wrote of the band: “There are few as highly cherished around the hallways of SEM than the Jasmine Minks. The Aberdeen-birthed band, formed in 1983, hasn’t ever released anything that’s failed to hang around our turntables since the day their post-punk gem of a first single “Think!” emerged in 1984.”

The Jasmine Minks will be playing some dates this Spring with the Jazz Butcher.

Jasmine Minks 2017 lineup:

Wattie Duncan–Guitars

Jim Shepherd–Guitars, vocals, keyboards

Tom Reid–Drums, vocals

Iain Slater–Vocals

Martin Keena–Bass guitar

Buy “Ten Thousand Tears” on the Jasmine Minks’ Bandcamp page.

Or email the band’s label:

Please visit the Scottish MND page here: