Instagram Soundcloud Spotify

I Didn’t Realize You Wrote Poetry: Morrissey To Release An Album Of Covers

Written by:

Morrissey is set to release a new album of all covers in 2019.

The follow-up to Moz’s 2017 effort Low In High School, the new album is called California Son and it’s said to be coming out in March.

Produced by the Boston-based Joe Chiccarelli (The Shins, Augie March), California Son finds the former Smiths singer taking on numbers by a wide spectrum of artists, including Bob Dylan, Melanie, Laura Nyro and Jobriath.

In other news, Morrissey’s Low In High School is being treated to a deluxe reissue this week in the form of a double vinyl or four-cd set. The expanded reissue will include his reading of the Pretenders’ “Back On The Chain Gang” as well as b-sides and five live tracks, including a version of
“Rose Garden” recorded at the Grand Ole Opry in Nashville.

Below are the tracks for California Son. The order is said to be not finalized.

California Son:

“Morning Starship” (Jobriath)
“Don’t Interrupt The Sorrow” (Joni Mitchell)
“Only A Pawn In Their Game” (Bob Dylan)
“Suffer The Little Children” (Buffy Sainte-Marie)
“Days Of Decision” (Phil Ochs)
“It’s Over” (Roy Orbison)
“Wedding Bell Blues” (Laura Nyro)
“Loneliness Remembers What Happiness Forgets” (Dionne Warwick)
“Lady Willpower” (Gary Puckett & The Union Gap)
“When You Close Your Eyes” (Carly Simon)
“Lenny’s Tune” (Tim Hardin)
“Some Say I Got Devil” (Melanie)