Instagram Soundcloud Spotify

Craig Finn And Laura Stevenson Live At Coney Island Baby

Written by:

Craig Finn stopped by Coney Island Baby the other night (5/12) to play an intimate show at the new East Village club.

Finn and his We All Want The Same Things Band tore through an inspired set of numbers from Finn’s solo songbook and threw in a few surprises, including a cover of Lifter+Puller’s “Nassau Coliseum” and a new number called “Her With The Blues.”

Finn opened the show with a moving tribute to the late Scott Hutchison with a passionate reading of Frightened Rabbit’s “Head Rolls Off.”

Finn’s setlist drew from his three solo albums, including 2017’s We All Want The Same Things. From that album, his take on “Jester & June” was particularly winning,

Elsewhere, “Maggie I’ve Been Searching For Our Son” was emotionally precise, “Screenwriter’s School” was appropriately scorching and the set-closing “God In Chicago” was filled with the kind of broken triumphs and poetic disasters that punctuate Finn’s work.

Long Island native Laura Stevenson opened the show and her brand of indie folk was the perfect prelude to Finn’s arrival.

  1. Head Rolls Off
  2. Be Honest
  3. Ninety Bucks
  4. Preludes
  5. Saint Peter Upside Down
  6. Tangletown
  7. Her With the Blues
  8. Newmyer’s Roof
  9. Screenwriters School
  10. Jester & June
  11. It Hits When It Hits
  12. Maggie I’ve Been Searching For Our Son
  13. Nassau Coliseum
  14. Trapper Avenue
  15. God In Chicago